St Bathans
Loop Road, St Bathans, Central Otago
Phone 027 226 3875

Reviews From Our Guests

St Bathans Jail  offers accommodation for up to two people in St Bathans, Central Otago. Located next to the Blue Lake, and two minutes’ walk from the Vulcan Motel, it is available for booking year-round and a special place to stay in every season. Enjoyed your stay? Please remember to leave a review on  Trip Advisor. Interested in what others have to say about their stay? Read reviews for St Bathans Jail and Constables Cottage below.

 

Kirsty February 2018

Great option for something different. We very much enjoyed our stay. We will be suggesting this to friends. Food at the hotel was lovely also. Thank you

Stephen Livett, 2 January 2018

Gaol Time – Me and my partner stayed over the new year period for two nights such a lovely wee place. The locals where very friendly such a great sleepy wee spot good to get away from the hussle of the city even if just for a few days.

Vanessa, April 2018

A great little spot for a stay. Fascinating staying in the old jail complete with the jailhouse door and even a ball and chain... Really warm and comfy with good facilities for two people. We had a good meal too at the Vulcan Hotel a short stroll away.

Bill Deed

October 2017 – Being an historian I loved the ambiance of the old jail. The facilities were excellent and more than adequate. We loved the contact with the locals at the Vulcan Hotel and the hospitality of Jude and Mike Kavanagh was a delight.
It is not often that I will give a top overall rating — but here it is.
I will come back!

The Fergusons

St Bathans Jail January 2017

It’s just over a week ago that we stayed in your unique Jail accommodation! Thank you very much for the splendid historic experience, with all mod cons! Thanks also for the ample choice of items for breakfast, with ample crockery, etc.

As our daughter & fiancé had enjoyed their stay there before, we knew all about St Bathans & your cute Jail/Gaol! They had invited us to holiday down there, & they camped this time, while we had our first stay in St Bathans.  We have driven through ONCE, a long while ago! It was a delight to do the walks near the lake, & I had the time to do the route right around- very picturesque, with the informative history plaques filling in the story of how St Bathans & the Blue Lake came to be.   

 Our meal at the Vulcan Hotel was faultless, with friendly, happy folk bringing us excellent fare in that relatively remote location.

Pam Fantham

St Bathans Jail January 2017

We had a wonderful stay in the Jail and I just wanted to say thank you. We were very impressed with it and would definitely stay there again. January 2017

NH, Auckland

St Bathans Jail June 2016

Angela, this is just to tell you how much we enjoyed staying in the jail. St Bathans was the perfect place in which to stay- it has the same restorative  powers that the Hokianga does- you feel great after only 18 hours in the area.  Many thanks- you have a lovely place there and just the right level of comfort.

Tahlee Henry (Southland)

Tahlee Henry (Southland)

St Bathans Jail

Thank you so much Angela for the jailhouse we absolutely loved it ! So cute and cosy, we had an amazing time and will definitely be back !

Bill and Judith McPhail, 17/4/2015

Bill and Judith McPhail, 17/4/2015

St Bathans Jail

I wanted to take a moment to say just how impressed Judith and I were, during our stay in St Bathans. The accommodation in the jail  was excellent and we were very comfortable throughout. Please pass on my sincere thanks to Sue who cleaned the unit - she does a great job.  The food at the hotel was excellent as well and thank you for arranging this on our behalf.

Sally Papps

Quirky, historic - a MUST stay!
Overall Rating:
Just breathtaking surroundings, stylishly appointed accommodation with well organised continental breakfast. Very comfortable.
Stayed in the Jail 10 February 2015

site powered by - Turboweb :: Simple Web Manager